Proxmark3 community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

  • Logged in as ikarus
  • Last visit: Today 11:22:42

Announcement

Time changes and with it the technology
Proxmark3 @ discord

Users of this forum, please be aware that information stored on this site is not private.

#1 2017-09-06 21:32:26

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 9,468
Website

homebrew vs flashing

This is a heads up for all OSX ppl who uses homebrew to tap proxmark3.

I realized today that the flasher gets installed as proxmark3-flasher.

bin.install "client/flasher" => "proxmark3-flasher

All documentation usually states  "client/flasher comX ..."

Below is a suggestion on how to use the proxmark flasher and client correctly on your OSX

-- enter the right folder.  This example indicates v3.0.1 is installed.
$ cd /usr/local/Cellar/proxmark3/3.0.1

--finding your device-port
$ ls /dev/cu*

-- flash bootrom
$ ./bin/proxmark3-flasher /dev/cu.usbmodem1411 -b ./share/firmware/bootrom.elf

-- flash fullimage
$ ./bin/proxmark3-flasher /dev/cu.usbmodem1411 ./share/firmware/fullimage.elf

-- swap into the bin-folder,  to have right paths for scripts and hardnested files when running.
$ cd bin
$ ./proxmark3 /dev/cu.usbmodem1411

Offline

#2 2017-11-10 21:58:42

JahProx
Contributor
Registered: 2017-11-10
Posts: 5

Re: homebrew vs flashing

Thanks Iceman for this.

I couldn't update my Flashers, and with this tips I still can't.

The problem is as followed

Last login: Fri Nov 10 21:24:49 on ttys000
$ cd /usr/local/Cellar/proxmark3/3.0.1
$ ls /dev/cu*
/dev/cu.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port	/dev/cu.usbmodem1431

$ ./bin/proxmark3-flasher /dev/cu.usbmodem1431 -b ./share/firmware/bootrom.elf
Loading ELF file './share/firmware/bootrom.elf'...
Loading usable ELF segments:
0: V 0x00100000 P 0x00100000 (0x00000200->0x00000200) [R X] @0x94
1: V 0x00200000 P 0x00100200 (0x00000cc8->0x00000cc8) [R X] @0x298

Waiting for Proxmark to appear on /dev/cu.usbmodem1431. Found.
Entering bootloader...
(Press and release the button only to abort)
Waiting for Proxmark to reappear on /dev/cu.usbmodem1431................ 

And he is waiting till infinity... Also the lights on my Proxmark turn Red and Orange near each other after this...
When I press the button on my Proxmark (Or pull out the cable) it states

Waiting for Proxmark to reappear on /dev/cu.usbmodem1431............................................................... Found.
Note: Your bootloader does not understand the new START_FLASH command
      It is recommended that you update your bootloader


Flashing...
Writing segments for file: ./share/firmware/bootrom.elf
 0x00100000..0x001001ff [0x200 / 1 blocks]

And it stops here...

How can I update this when I want to update but it gives the error that I have to update?
I also tried by downloading manualy, and followed this http://breakinsecurity.com/updating-the-proxmark3-on-osx/ but got the same problem anytime.

I'm running on macOS Sierra 10.12.6

----------------------

hw version

proxmark3> hw version
[[[ Cached information ]]]
          
Prox/RFID mark3 RFID instrument          
          
uC: AT91SAM7S256 Rev D          
Embedded Processor: ARM7TDMI          
Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: 256K bytes. Used: 0 bytes ( 0). Free: 262144 bytes (100).          
Second Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: None          
Internal SRAM Size: 64K bytes          
Architecture Identifier: AT91SAM7Sxx Series          
Nonvolatile Program Memory Type: Embedded Flash Memory          
          
  

hw tune

proxmark3> hw tune

Measuring antenna characteristics, please wait.........          
# LF antenna: 39.33 V @   125.00 kHz          
# LF antenna: 34.51 V @   134.00 kHz          
# LF optimal: 40.15 V @   126.32 kHz          
# HF antenna: 29.81 V @    13.56 MHz          
Displaying LF tuning graph. Divisor 89 is 134khz, 95 is 125khz.
          

          
No GUI in this build!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by JahProx (2017-11-10 22:01:10)

Offline

#3 2021-04-09 22:29:16

zeppi
Contributor
Registered: 2021-03-07
Posts: 36

Re: homebrew vs flashing

I currently have two issues with the homebrew formula on macos:

1) it does not provide the graphical output windows, which is really a cut-down in functionality. Is it possible to enable this and what additional homebrew casks/formulae are required for that?

2) I do not get to use a different standalone mode than the default one, althought I am setting the environment variables as described before compiling.

This is how I am using it:

Installation:

export HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM=PM3RDV4 HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM_EXTRAS=BTADDON HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_STANDALONE=HF_COLIN

brew install --HEAD --with-blueshark proxmark3

Updating:

export HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM=PM3RDV4 HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM_EXTRAS=BTADDON HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_STANDALONE=HF_COLIN

brew upgrade --fetch-HEAD proxmark3

(press button and connect pm3, then:)

pm3-flash-all

Offline

#4 2021-05-24 23:12:33

digitalfx
Contributor
Registered: 2021-05-24
Posts: 2

Re: homebrew vs flashing

zeppi wrote:

2) I do not get to use a different standalone mode than the default one, althought I am setting the environment variables as described before compiling.

This is how I am using it:

Installation:

export HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM=PM3RDV4 HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM_EXTRAS=BTADDON HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_STANDALONE=HF_COLIN

brew install --HEAD --with-blueshark proxmark3

Updating:

export HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM=PM3RDV4 HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM_EXTRAS=BTADDON HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_STANDALONE=HF_COLIN

brew upgrade --fetch-HEAD proxmark3

(press button and connect pm3, then:)

pm3-flash-all

Instead of using environment variables, try doing it like this.

brew install --HEAD --with-hf-colin proxmark3

Last edited by digitalfx (2021-05-24 23:13:23)

Offline

#5 2021-06-05 00:02:45

zeppi
Contributor
Registered: 2021-03-07
Posts: 36

Re: homebrew vs flashing

digitalfx wrote:
zeppi wrote:

2) I do not get to use a different standalone mode than the default one, althought I am setting the environment variables as described before compiling.

This is how I am using it:

Installation:

export HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM=PM3RDV4 HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM_EXTRAS=BTADDON HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_STANDALONE=HF_COLIN

brew install --HEAD --with-blueshark proxmark3

Updating:

export HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM=PM3RDV4 HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_PLATFORM_EXTRAS=BTADDON HOMEBREW_PROXMARK3_STANDALONE=HF_COLIN

brew upgrade --fetch-HEAD proxmark3

(press button and connect pm3, then:)

pm3-flash-all

Instead of using environment variables, try doing it like this.

brew install --HEAD --with-hf-colin proxmark3

It doesn't allow me to specify several --with statements, but it seems that --with-hf-colin (or any other standalone mode) implies --with-blueshark, so all is good.

At first the latest firmware gave me after hw tune that my hf antenna is unusable.
I went back to stable and there the hf antenna was detected as normal.

I then uninstalled proxmark3 and installed again the latest version.
Then it worked and magically also the graphical windows started to work!

Hooray!

Last edited by zeppi (2021-06-05 00:53:17)

Offline

#6 2021-06-05 20:33:37

zeppi
Contributor
Registered: 2021-03-07
Posts: 36

Re: homebrew vs flashing

If one has two or more different Proxmarks (e.g. 1x RDV4, 1x RDV2, 1x Easy), is it possible to set the homebrew package so up that it is possible to flash and connect all different Proxmarks without the need to reinstall each time one uses a different Proxmark than last time?

Last edited by zeppi (2021-06-05 20:34:17)

Offline

#7 2021-06-19 17:17:05

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 9,468
Website

Re: homebrew vs flashing

The instructions on the RRG/Iceman repo for homebrew was a bit outdated.  It has been updated since.
However the instructions for the RRG Homebrew repo is quite clear and up-to-date.  You shouldn't have had much troubles with the different params if following that one.

With that said,  there is always room for improvements.  Feel free to make it even better.

Offline

Quick reply

Write your message and submit

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB