Proxmark3 community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.

"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

• Logged in as ikarus

Announcement

Time changes and with it the technology
Proxmark3 @ discord

Users of this forum, please be aware that information stored on this site is not private.

#1 2009-11-30 22:23:26

eletari

Building an HF antenna, but can only get 3V

Hi all,

Admission: I'm not good with electronics, so I'm probably doing something wrong here.  Hence the question.  I'm building this antenna to use with a Proxmark3 that my department bought.

So, I'm following the instructions given at:

http://code.google.com/p/proxmark3/wiki … se_antenna

I've tried twice, getting pretty precise with the measurements (starting high and working my way down), but each time I've only been able to get about 3V out of the antenna.  My real question is whether I'm doing something fundamentally wrong, since I don't quite understand part of the directions. 

Here's what I'm doing.  Once I've stripped the cable and cut out the white and red wires, I've got just the green and black.  I trim them to length and strip the ends.  Then, the instructions say to "Make an antenna coil of 3 windings using the green cable. Connect the green cable with the black one and tape them together so they won’t unwind."  At this point I get confused, because the green wire is only 19cm, clearly too short to make 3 coils.  So, instead, I twisted the ends of the green and black together to make one big loop, taped them to make sure they'd stay together, and then doubled my new big loop three times, so that the antenna looks, as far as I can tell, basically like the one in the picture.